Posted in DearDiary

Tattoo

If I was to make myself a tattoo, I would choose the Ollin aztec symbol.

Day Ollin (Movement) is governed by Xolotl as its provider of tonalli (Shadow Soul) life energy. This is an auspicious day for the active principle, a bad day for the passive principle. Ollin is a day of the purified heart, signifying those moments where human beings may perceive what they are becoming. A good day for transmutation, which arrives like an earthquake that leaves in its wake the ruins of rationality, order and the preconceived.

I remember in university, when studying the semester for Branding and Identity if I remember correctly, we had to design our own identity. And I chose this symbol. I redesigned in a shape of a snail sliced in two which looks like a twist, which is precisely how the aztecs got to design the original symbol to express movement.

I believe that all of us change, move into other characters, we don’t always stay the same. Every single day changes, every sunset and sunrise changes and is never the same. Why would a person be the same? Movement is the ability to go whenever wherever you want or you are taken to. Of doing something, being active. Of thinking and feeling in order to learn and understand.

I like to think that my feet are the perfect representation of movement. But I would consider as always my neck since that is how I can move my head, my thoughts, my perceptions. Or the chest where the heart is, which moves continuously until one’s life or feelings stop.

PS: Although according to the aztec calendar, my Birthsign is the Deer:

Tonalli: day 5 – Mazatl (deer)
Trecena: 13-day period  1 – Calli (house)
Xihuitl: solar year 11 – Tecpatl (flint knife)

Yoaltecuhtli: Lord of the Night Tlazolteotl
Xiuhpohualli: 365-day calendar 9 – Cuauhuitlehua (I)
Long Count: (Mayan calendar) 12.18.10.8.7

Day Mazatl (Deer) is governed by Tlaloc, God of Rain and Thunderstorms, as its provider of tonalli (Shadow Soul) life energy. Mazatl is the day of the hunt. It is a good day to stalk your quarry, a bad day to be stalked. Mazatl is a day for breaking old routines and to pay close attention to the routines of others. This is a day for doubling-back on your tracks.

The thirteen day period (trecena) that starts with day 1-Calli (House) is ruled by Itzpapalotl. The 13 days of this trecena are governed by the conflict between culture and nature: the native desire of human beings to maintain a lineage of customs and beliefs is periodically disrupted by the evolutionary leaps of nature. In this sense, nature is represented as the house into which we are born and culture as the house into which we move. These are 13 days of struggling to decide which house is really home. With every step forward, the warrior still stands at the center of the crossroads: the heart must be trained if it is to be a reliable compass. These are good days to focus on the future; bad days to focus on the past.

Author:

Mexican, ecogreenlover, designer and music fan.

Leave a Reply

